Select Page

Creation and establishment

The Libyan University is the former name of the first Libyan university established in Benghazi with the promulgation of the law establishing the university on Thursday, December 15, 1955, immediately after Libya’s independence.
The university began in accordance with the following stations:

On Sunday, January 22, 1956, the university officially opened.
On Monday, January 23, 1956, the study actually began.
The university began its career at the Faculty of Arts and Education and admitted (31) students who were taught by (6) faculty members assisted in the management of the university by (9) employees.
1957 Established the Faculty of Commerce and Economics
1962 Established, Faculty of Law
October 6, 1968 The foundation stone of the university city was laid.
1970 Established the Faculty of Human Medicine
1970 Faculty of Arabic Language and Islamic Studies based in Al-Bayda
August 1973 The name of the university changed to be benghazi University.
1973 Established Faculty of Engineering
1974 Established faculty of oral and dental medicine and surgery and faculty of science
1974 The university moved from its old headquarters inside Benghazi to its current headquarters in the university city in Qaryounis region
1975 Established Faculty of Agriculture
1976 Changed her name from Benghazi University to Qaryounis University
September 1984 brought together medical colleges at one university called the Arab Medical University.
1989 Established Faculty of Pharmacy
1994 Established the Faculty of Public Health
1999 Medical colleges were re-integrated into the University of Qaryounis
2004 Established Faculty of Education
2006 Established It College
2007 Medical colleges seceded under the name “Arab Medical University”
2007 Established College of Nursing
February 17, 2011 The name returns to Benghazi University and is joined by medical colleges.
2011 Established The Faculty of Information
2015 Established the Faculty of Technical Medical Sciences
2019 Established The Faculty of Physical Education and the College of Languages

The university also has sub-colleges outside Benghazi in a number of Libyan cities:

No. Branch Faculty Date of establishment
1 Al-Marj Arts and Science 1991
2 Al-Abiyar Arts and Science 2003
3 Oases Arts and Science 2003
4 Tukra Arts and Science 2003
5 Al-Kufra Arts and Science 2004
6 Geminis Education 2005
7 Al-Marj Education 2009
8 Al-Marj Accounting and business Administration 2013
9 Oujla Education 2015
10 Jalu Engineering and Oil 2015
11 Solouk Arts and Science 2016
12 Al-Kufra Law 2018
13 Al-Marj  Medicine 2018


This is a DEMO VERSION the website is under development